Board of Governors

The Nebraska Legislature, pursuant to the laws of the State of Nebraska, authorizes the establishment of a statewide independent system of locally governed community colleges.

The Legislature has declared a community college to be truly responsible to the people it serves. Primary control of such colleges must be placed in the citizens within its geographical area. The intent and purpose of this Act is to create locally governed and locally supported community college areas with the major educational emphasis on occupational education.

Each community college area is intended to be an independent, local, unique, and vital segment of higher education separate from both elementary and secondary school systems and from other institutions of higher education, and not to be converted into four-year baccalaureate degree-granting institutions. The Western Community College Area (WCCA) has been created for such intents and purposes.

Recent and Upcoming Agendas

A current agenda for the Western Community College Area (WCCA) Board of Governors meeting is available for public inspection in the Board Secretary’s office, Western Nebraska Community College, Scottsbluff Campus.  

Wednesday, July 17, 2024: Informal Board meeting 10:30 a.m. and Regular Board meeting 1:00 p.m., Scottsbluff Campus


Board Meeting Minutes

Western Community College Area (WCCA) Board of Governors meeting minutes are posted after Board approval at the following month’s meeting. To access the archives of the Board Minutes, please contact the Board Secretary, 308-635-6009.

Our Board of Governors

District 1


Ms. Marjorie Schmidt
Ms. Marjorie Schmidt
7094 State Highway 27
Gordon, NE 69343


District 2


Ms. F. Lynne Klemke (Chair)
Ms. F. Lynne Klemke
P.O. Box 471    
Oshkosh, NE 69154

Mr. R. J. Savely, Jr.
Mr. R.J. Savely, Jr.
P.O. Box 154
Lodgepole, NE 69149

District 3


Mr. Allan D. Kreman
Mr. Allan D. Kreman
11236 US Hwy 26
Bayard, NE 69334


District 4


Ms. Karen Anderson
Ms. Karen S. Anderson (Chair)
2220 Pacific Blvd.
Gering, NE 69341


Ms. Coral E. Richards
Ms. Coral E. Richards
1175 Hwy 88W
Harrisburg, NE 69345


District 5 

Dr. William M. Packard
Dr. William M. Packard
1523 Idlewylde Drive
Scottsbluff, NE 69361   

Ms. Linda A. Guzman-Gonzales
Ms. Linda A. Guzman-Gonzales
614 Valley View Drive
Scottsbluff, NE 69361


Mr. John Stinner
Mr. John Stinner (Vice Chair)
2310 17th Street
Gering, NE  69341